Election Commission And Election Commissioner India

You might have read all about Election commission India but what do you know about our election commissioner? What does our election commission do? Its goals and functions?

We are going to answer the above questions of yours in this article.

What is Election Commission India

The modern Indian nation state came into existence on 15th of August 1947. Since then free and fair elections have been held at regular intervals in this democratic Country.

The Constitution of India has vested in the Election Commission of India the superintendence, direction and control of the entire process for conduct of elections to Parliament and Legislature of every State and to the offices of President and Vice-President of India.

The Election Commission is a permanent Constitutional Body. It was established in accordance with the Constitution on 25th January 1950.

Originally the commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner. It currently consists of Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.

Election Commissioner

The Election Commission is headed by the Election Commissioner. He is usually a member of the Indian Civil Service and mostly from the Indian Administrative Service or the Indian Revenue Service.

Also Read:  How and Why is Election Commissioner of India Appointed?

Official Website

The Election Commission of India has its official website which is


Functions of Election Commission India

Election Commission of India (ECI) is the constitutional body of India and its work are defined in Constitution of India. We highlight some of the functions of Election Commission Of India:

  • Election Commission of India is fully independent body and Government never interferes in its work.
  • Election Commission of India is responsible for the election of President, Member of Parliament, MLA etc.
  • Election Commission of India has responsibility to declare date of election under Constitution of India.
  • It sees that the voters can exercise their franchise without fear or lure. It is an important function of the commissioner to see that peace is not disturbed. For these election meetings, processions and propaganda etc. are strictly regulated by the commission.
  • The Election Commission prepares the electoral’s rolls which are revised before every general election or state legislatures.
  • It supervises the machinery of election; it notifies the dates of elections, conducts elections, recognizes political parties, allots those symbols and enforces a code of conduct for the political parties.
  • Election Commission of India takes control of all the police, forces, and reserve police to conduct safe and fair election.
  • The Election Commission can ask more forces from reserve police and fund to conduct election in various level
  • Many a time’s voters are often exposed to monetary allurement or physical intimidation to win votes. All these have to be checked by the vigilant election commission. The election commission’s one very important duty is to prevent all kinds of electoral corruption and to ensure free and fair poll.
Also Read:  Meet Kumar Vishwas-The Firebrand AAP Youth Leader

Election Commission India

Appointment & Tenure of Commissioners

The President based on a recommendation from the Government of India appoints Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners. They have tenure of six years, or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. They enjoy the same status and receive salary and perks as available to Judges of the Supreme Court of India. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.


The salary and other conditions of service of the Election Commissioner are determined by the Parliament of India through “Election Commission (Condition of Service of Election Commissions And Transaction of Business) Act, 1991

List of Chief Election Commissioners

Sr no Name From To
1  Sukumar Sen 1950 1958
2  Kalyan Sundaram 1958 1967
3  S. P. Sen Verma 1967 1972
4  Dr. Nagendra Singh 1972 1973
5  T. Swaminathan 1973 1977
6  S. L. Shakdhar 1977 1982
7  R. K. Trivedi 1982 1986
8  R. V. S. Peri Sastri 1986 1990
9  V. S. Ramadevi 1990 1990
10  T. N. Seshan 1990 1996
11  M. S. Gill 1996 2002
12  J. M. Lyngdoh 2002 2004
13  T. S. Krishnamurthy 2004 2005
14  B. B. Tandon 2005 2006
15  N. Gopalaswami 2006 2009
16  Navin Chawla 2009 2010
17  S. Y. Quraishi 2010 2012
18  V. S. Sampath 2012 Till date
Also Read:  Interesting Facts About the Election Commission India

The decisions of the commission are taken by a majority vote. V. S. Sampath is the current Chief Election Commissioner and other two Election Commissioners are Harishankar Brahma And S N A Zaidi.

Comment Policy [Please read this before posting your comments]: Only use your real name. Your words are your own, so be nice and helpful if you can. Please, do not share any personal information in your comments. For further details, please read our Comments Policy available over here.


  1. […] The Election Commission of India (ECI) also uses social media as a platform for conducting  free, fair, peaceful and transparent elections and, more importantly, to check the problem of paid news. The ECI for the first time brought the poll campaign for a candidate or a party on the social media under strict regulation and control. For this purpose, the ECI directed the social networking sites to take a necessary pre-certification from the Media Certification and Monitoring Committees at district and State levels before putting any of the contents in the public domain. Also, they should maintain the expenditure incurred by the political parties and individual candidates. The Election Commission has also asked the social networking sites to maintain expenditure incurred by the political parties and individual candidates on advertisements so that they can be produced to the Commission when requested for. […]

India's most trusted Voter ID Card and Elections website || Signup for our FREE email alerts now Click Here
Hello. Add your message here.
Read previous post:
Exit Poll Lok Sabha Elections 2014
Exit Polls: Lok Sabha Elections 2014

As the Lok sabha Elections have finally wound up on 12th may the exit polls are making the headlines round...