It is AAP vs. BJP vs. Congress in the New Delhi Constituency

The three-time Congress Chief Minister for Delhi, Mrs. Shiela Dixit had to vacate her New Delhi constituency seat for AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal in the Assembly Elections of 2013. The difference between the vote share of the 2 leaders was an indicator of the immense support given to Mr. Kejriwal by the residents of the New Delhi constituency in 2013 elections. He had defeated the former CM by 25,000 votes.

Nevertheless, Mr. Kejriwal even went on to form the Government with the help of the external and unconditional Congress support. The Government lasted for merely 49 days, after which, the AAP Chief gave out his resignation as the 7th CM of Delhi on moral grounds, for not being able to get the Lok Pal Bill passed(an Anti-Corruption Bill centred around the removal of rigidities in the system).

Was the 49-Day Aam Aadmi Party Government able to nurture the support of the Delhi voters, remains a topic of debate and endless discussion. This very debate would come to halt, once the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 results are announced on the 10th February 2015.

Also Read:  5 Factors To Consider Before You Vote For A Candidate

7th February 2015 is going to be a historic day. Not only because this is the voting day for Assembly Re-elections 2015 but also because now, the people of Delhi would get a chance to announce their opinion on the work done by the Aam Aadmi Party during their 49-Day Government. In a way, the voting would also the determine the rating which the Delhi voters are willing to give to Mr. Arvind Kejriwal as a CM of Delhi during his short Tenure. Would they give him another chance? Or, are they willing to elect another Government? All this would become clear on the Election day.

The overall result of the Delhi Assembly Elections would sure be the deciding factor but before that(on a smaller scale), there is another political battle going on in the high-profile New Delhi constituency we talked about. Things have changed since the 2013 Delhi Assembly Elections and this time around, the fight is going to be tougher. Looking at Arvind Kejriwal’s 2013 victory, both BJP and Congress are going to leave no stone unturned to pitch the best-suited candidates against him, in the coming elections of 2015.

Also Read:  Get your Voter ID Online in Simple Steps

Let us have a look at the BJP and Congress candidates contesting the New Delhi constituency in the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, against the previous winner of the seat and also the AAP convenor, Arvind Kejriwal.

The Political Fight for New Delhi Constituency(Assembly Elections 2015)

Looking at the stronghold of AAP in the New Delhi constituency, both BJP and Congress have put in a lot of thought before pitching in the candidates. For this reason, BJP decided to nominate Nupur Sharma, a young leader born and brought up New Delhi itself. She has also remained the President of the Student Union(University of Delhi). She won the DUSU Election on behalf of ABVP, the student wing supported by the Bhartiya Janata Party. Sharma, a degree holder from the London School of Economics, is expected to give Arvind Kejriwal a tough fight.

Congress has decided to deploy Kiran Walia as a candidate in the New Delhi Constituency. She is a former Minister and was a part of the 3-time Shiela Dixit-Congress Government. Congress is hoping that the people of the New Delhi constituency vote for Mrs. Walia based upon the work she has done during her tenure as a Cabinet Minister.

Also Read:  The Delhi Election Results 2015- Arvind Kejriwal the CM

So now it is up to the Delhi voters and their preferences during the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 would decide the fate of these 3 candidates. Who would win the New Delhi constituency? We shall know it in another 15 Days when the results of this highly interesting re-election is announced.

Important Links for Delhi Assembly Election 2015

Interactive Guide to Voting in Delhi

CEO Delhi Website

Election Commission of India Website

CM Candidates in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015


Comment Policy [Please read this before posting your comments]: Only use your real name. Your words are your own, so be nice and helpful if you can. Please, do not share any personal information in your comments. For further details, please read our Comments Policy available over here.


Read previous post:
how to vote in the delhi assembly elections 2015
Ab Ki Baar, Kiski Sarkaar?(Delhi Assembly elections 2015)

Feb 7th 2015 is going to decide the fate of Delhi. Be it the Aam Aadmi Party, The Indian National...